Skip to content

From “The Thousand Autumns of Jacob De Zoet,” by David Mitchell

October 8, 2010

Today’s lines wheel through spokes of sunlight over gracious roofs and dowdy thatch.

And so the scene is beautifully set for one of the most satisfying acts of vengeance I’ve ever read. (To it, then, Magistrate Shiroyama!)

Nope, I don’t think that’s giving too much away, even for those of you who don’t believe that if a story is good enough, it can’t possibly be spoiled by spoilers.  This story is good enough.  See:  here is the Telegraph’s short review, and here’s Dave Eggers’s somewhat longer one in the New York Times.

I read from David Mitchell’s novel The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet (Random House, 2010).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Peter permalink
    October 8, 2010 1:45 pm

    I liked the excerpt Eggers read in his review.

    Do you have a favorite book that you enjoy reading again and again?

    For me, it is “The Magic Mountain” by Thomas Mann.

    • October 8, 2010 10:12 pm

      Great question, and thanks for it! I always think I will, like today with this story, but I’m surprised at how rarely I do actually read novels a second time.

      I guess have had a copy of Henri Nouwen’s Return of the Prodigal Son checked out by interlibrary loan since May and have read it a few times since then. I expect to be subpoenaed for *its* return any day now. (Marcia or Sandy, if you’re reading this, I just put it in my bag to bring back Monday!)

      And poetry books…even the best ones, I read like the Bible, here and there, sometimes with diligence, usually returning again and again to my favorite parts.

      How about others of you–favorite books to reread?

      KP

Leave a Reply

